Polk Automotive Loyalty Awards wrap up

13 Jan 2011 IHS Markit Automotive Expert

Stephen Polk presenting the 2011 Polk Automotive Loyalty AwardsThis week marked the presentation of the 15th annual Polk Automotive Loyalty Awards. Held at the Automotive News World Congress in Detroit, MI, the awards recognize auto manufacturers for their ability to keep owners in the same brand when they return to market for their next vehicle purchase.

Stephen Polk, Chairman, President & CEO of R. L. Polk & Co., handed out awards in 16 categories including 10 vehicle segment awards, three ethnic market awards and additional awards honoring most improved loyalty to make, overall loyalty to make and overall loyalty to manufacturer. Click here for a complete list of winners and their photos.

The Polk Automotive Loyalty Awards are highly coveted by manufacturers and the difference between 1st and 2nd place often times is small -- sometimes even less than one percentage point. Here are some highlights:

  • In the compact car segment less than 0.5 percentage point separated MINI Cooper, the 2010 model year winner, from Toyota Corolla, the second place runner-up.
  • Competition in the ethnic market categories was also close with less than 2 percentage points separating first and second place in all three categories.
  • Runaway Winners - Mercedes-Benz E-Class was a runaway winner in the luxury car segment. The same was true for the Ford F-Series in the Pickup Segment, Lexus RX in the Mid/Full SUV Segment and Land Rover Range Rover in the Luxury SUV Segment.
  • In the most improved category less than 0.5 percentage point separated the top six brands with less than 0.4 percentage point separating the top three.
  • Ford was a runaway winner in both the overall make and manufacturer categories achieving loyalty rate above 60% in both categories.

Congratulations to all the winners!


Filter Sort